Getting Fit

Created by MyFitnessPal - Free Calorie Counter

Wednesday, August 8, 2012

Well that's one way to get over your plateau, get puking sick.  It has been a "fun" week so far.  My almost 4 yr old son was sick on Sunday.  My daughter started with it yesterday morning at 1am with my husband to follow.  As they were winding now from puking, it was me and my youngest's turn to have a go around.  So, now that my system is broken down, I feel better today.  It won't be too hard to stick with my shakes today because that is all I trust to eat at this moment for fear of a recurrence.  It was mostly a 24hr thing but my husband had it much worse than I so he is getting some extra rest today.  One thing I know for sure, there will definitely be nap time.  As far as a workout goes, I need to let my sore body recover from yesterday.  It is amazing how much that will just make your whole body ache.  Your workouts are only as effective as the rest you allow your body to get.  I am not staying down, I will get back up!

Thursday, August 2, 2012

The season has started for birthdays which means the holidays are not far behind.  Needless to say, I have had quite a few challenging days and feel horrible stuck.  The kids are getting a little nutty and excited for school to start, which means less patient and kind with each other.  I have worked out 3 days this week already but this morning the kids started early and I was not about to try to workout and deal with ornery kids at the same time.  So, trying to stick to my diet today, my shakes, water, my apple and some dinner.  I have got to get back on track.  I haven't gained much back, in fact when I weighed myself Monday morning I was back at my 17pounds.  I really want to get over this hump.  Trying to be diligent because I want this so bad.

Monday, July 30, 2012

Be bold, not timid

So I decided being self conscious was not a good excuse to not make a good effort.  I am only 3 lbs away from 20 and have been for over a month.  Lame!  I should have reached it by now!  I am disappointed in myself.  So I changed my workout outfit, from my swim suit top and shorts back to a t-shirt and shorts.  And even though my 21 month old cried most of the time because I wasn't paying attention to him, I did 25 min and burned over 200 calories.  I feel great!!!  Now I am just holding my son and my older 2 are playing nicely.  Other than homework, I have a good project to work on for the house today.  I am more productive when I workout than when I don't. 

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Insecurities

So I have been stuck at my 17lb weight loss for a while.  Coming to terms with my body image and weight loss.  The other day my husband and I had a conversation late into the night part of it involved our personal body issues.  He said something to me that made this whole journey much more meaningful.  As I was expressing my disgust with my body and the realization that it is never going to go back to where it was, he told me he loved me because I look this way.  I scoffed and told him not to lie, to which he replied it is because I gave him 3 beautiful children and he wouldn't change that for anything.  So, as I sit here writing, stuck on a plateau at that time of the month, bloated and feeling yucky, I know that as I am taking this journey for me and will encounter these uphill battles sometimes, no matter how far I get, he will love how I look.  I feel now that I have had the personal realization that certain parts of my body will not look how I want them to after I reach my goal weight, it's okay and I should be proud of my body.  The other hangup is being self-conscious.  My brother and sister in law are here for a few more weeks and that has drastically hindered my will to get changed into my workout stuff and go sweat my butt off in the family room, for fear they might see me in all my self-consciousness.  I have never been a gym rat for the same reason, too many people there to "maintain" their physiques versus try to alter it.  I always knew this would be a learning process but I am still surprised by what I am being taught. 

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Did Day 2 of the 30-day Challenge for EA Active.  My legs are killing me but it feels good to be stressed in a different way.  You sleep better at the end of the day too.  Our middle, almost 4 year old is too big for naps now and bedtime is a bit easier because of it.  So, that means Bruiser gets a nap and Mommy doesn't anymore.  Oh well, such is life.  Tomorrow on the 30 day is supposed to be rest day but I think I will do another workout anyways. I have been doing 4-5days a week for at least 15 minutes so it wouldn't be abnormal.  Feeling good though, having some issues with food but working through it.  Had a reasonable lunch instead of my shake but felt the need to bake and ate too many cookies in dough and baked form.  It's just one of those things I have to challenge myself with periodically and remind myself that a little is okay, too much makes you feel sick and hinders my progress.  Learning a lesson right now and keeping up with my determination!

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Back to the workout and better on the diet.  Feels great to have worked out this morning.  I am missing my resistance band for my EA Active game, gotta find it because doing those workouts without it aren't the same.  I am only about 2 1/2 pounds behind my cousins weight loss, she has already hit her 20 mark.  Now, I am at least in the running again.  I am proud to say that even though I wasn't super strict on my diet or consistent with my workouts, I have maintained and not gained.  Very happy about that!!!  Keep going, you will feel better, trust me I do :)

Monday, July 16, 2012

Final for this class had me stressing major!  So no workout this morning but I have been keeping off my lost weight, thank goodness!!!  Getting a fresh class and start on working out tomorrow.  I have a goal of 2lbs a week.  Going to do my best to meet it and I know I will once I get my butt back in gear.  Seriously, not a fun final, glad it's over.  Back to the grind and losing that weight, keep it up!

Friday, July 13, 2012

Continuing to drop...

Well, I just barely got my Wii all set up to resume my workouts on EA Active.  It's not like I have been doing nothing, though.  I have still been moving boxes, cleaning stuff, some yard work, unpacking, etc.  All of that and making sure to continue eating right has helped me continue to lose weight.  I was surprised this morning when I weighed myself and found I had lost another pound.  It is keeping me motivated to get back to my morning workouts.  I am so happy that I am only 3 pounds away from 20 lbs.  I am still noticing how I feel in clothes.  It is also kind of weird to watch the weight shrink in some places and identify where I really need to work on the others.  I am glad to have support and the motivation this time around.  This is definitely a new lifestyle I plan on sticking with!

Monday, July 9, 2012

I'm back!

Okay, I was never really gone but moving took a lot of work so I didn't count everything I did or ate.  In fact I was worried that all the less healthy food I was eating was going to come back to bite me.  Luckily, I found this morning that I had actually lost again.  Thank goodness.  I have been trying to make healthier eating choices. My husband and I went on a double date Friday and I opted for fish, broccoli and salad versus french fries or other choices I might have previously made.  After moving, I felt I could handle a week of recuperation.  So, I didn't actively workout but there were things I did that could count as such, raking the back yard, clearing boxes out of the living area (so we could have a living area). LOL.  I feel rested and ready to get back into actively working my butt off ;)   Here's to unexpected surprises and getting back to it!!! Cheers (big glass of water)!

Friday, June 29, 2012

Crazy...

It has been extremely stressful and crazy here as we prepared for and then moved.  I didn't follow my diet, ate junk and moved a lot.  Hopefully I didn't re-gain all my lost weight as I haven't found my scale yet.  I am ready to get back on track though and looking forward to my workouts.  Just tired and not quite finished yet.  Once we are done cleaning out the old house, I can really relax and enjoy our new place.  Still positive and anxious to get back to it!

Monday, June 18, 2012

Pleasantly suprised...

Well, I did better than I thought I did this weekend.  It is interesting how when your body is tired and sore, you feel so swollen.  And yet, I have hit my 15lbs lost mark!!!  It was Father's Day weekend and we had some yummy food and fun, which to me means that I thought I might have ended up 2 steps back this morning.  I surprised myself with how well I did in eating and in terms of exercise, I did get some just not as structured.  I cleaned a lot yesterday in preparation for Father's Day dinner.  We took Daddy up to a lake and that was it's own type of exercise.  So even though I feel swollen and tired, I feel SOOOO happy that I didn't undo myself.  My husband said I have been making good progress.  It was nice to hear that he was proud of me, it helps with the motivation ;)

Thursday, June 14, 2012

Another pound closer to my goal.  Only 5 more to the 20lb mark.  I know it still says 14 lost but I lost enough to be under 240 for the first time in probably a year.  That is a big deal to me.  When I had my checkup early last month, I was talking to my doctor about my goals for losing weight, etc. He informed me of my starting weight when I got pregnant with my youngest.  Ever since, that weight has been my goal to pass and really feel successful.  So being 5 away from that now, is another great small victory!  I really didn't feel like working out this morning but I knew I needed to.  So, I did it anyway albeit less enthusiastically than usual.  I did a little 20 minute workout and burned a good bit of calories but like I said, I didn't push it.  It might have something to do with having my shake before my workout instead of after, which is in relation to the time the kids woke up and breakfast, etc.  I also have about a week left to get stuff put in boxes and organized for storage and our new place, my new class just started and I think I am feeling like there is a lot going on and I just want it to all be done already.  Oh well, I am proud of myself for pushing forward even when I would have rather sat at the computer.  On another note we went out for dinner last night.  I researched the menu and calories of each meal before we went and made a healthy and really filling choice.  I was surprised at how full I felt and knowing that it was a nice 480 calories.  Better choices, feeling lighter, gotta get stuff done :)  Keep trudging through, you will be happy you did in the end.  Now for homework!

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Legs and Lungs is intense but it feels so good to have my legs thoroughly stretched out.  I am hovering again, this time I am close to getting under 240 for the first time in too long.  So, my motivation is there but there are some snacks in the house that I got for the kids, tempting me.  I have my skinny cow and I am trying to treat myself with that only instead of the snacks I got the kids.  It was kinda hard yesterday but I didn't go over my calorie limit so that is good.  Just need to get over the hover, so that is when I start changing up the workouts I do, hence the lungs and legs from the full circuit.  Maybe the Zumba tomorrow, that would be fun and the kids could do it too. Well, I have lots of homework to do today and then I can kind of relax for the rest of the week.  The final week of a class is always better if I get my part of the team assignment in as soon as possible.  Working out has definitely made it easier to focus and be productive.

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Got my workout on this morning and I feel so much better than I did yesterday!  After my workout, I fed the kids, cleaned the kitchen and started the laundry.  I love how productive I was, now just to keep it up the rest of the day.  I have some homework to work on but I am looking forward to getting under 240 this week.  That is my goal, 2 lbs just as usual.  That will be a big step for me.  I feel lighter today, even after my yucky and cheat day.  I had Wendy's for dinner.  But honestly, the burger tasted good and I had been on my diet the rest of the day, so it wasn't too bad to eat it.  I also had a soda which I haven't had in so long, so I couldn't tell if it was diet or not.  When I was a soda-aholic, I could tell the difference between Coke, Pepsi and their diet counterparts.  It was just interesting.  The best part about working out in my swim suit is noticing the fit.  When I first started my belly kept the top part stretched and down where it needed to be. Now when I work out, it slides up.  I look forward to the day it is too loose.  That is a ways down the road but it will be a victory.  I can't believe it took me so long to do this, I am constantly amazed at how good I feel.  Never giving this up again!

Monday, June 4, 2012

Haven't worked out

Ugh, is how I feel today.  I was going to get my workout done this morning as usual, but after not doing it over the weekend and my boys being sick and needing me instead of playing happily it didn't happen.  I am feeling it too.  I feel yucky and blah.  I am definitely going to do it tomorrow, hopefully my boys will comply with giving me 30min of uninterrupted movie watching so I can workout.   This is a hard process but I know I will be happy with the end results.

Saturday, June 2, 2012

13lbs GONE!

I have lost another pound and I am feeling good.  I put on some formerly tight jeans and a shirt I really liked but accentuated my belly the wrong way and for the first time in a while, I feel comfortable in the outfit.  I was a little worried about sitting down in the jeans, I tend to have a problem (3 kids and all) with zippers staying in their upright position after I resume standing.  Luckily, no falling zipper or protruding gut.  I have yet to take measurements.  I think when I hit 20 lbs lost I will start monitoring the inches.  I just haven't had the desire to wrap the measuring tape around my body yet.  I am worried it will be a discouragement instead of a help just yet.  Since I know a lot of my eating and weight problems are emotional, I am trying to work on being happy with how things feel wearing them and how I feel with my progress.  Even my husband told me after I told him about the clothes, I made a comment about having not sat down yet, he said that I couldn't just be happy with the good.  I am happy with my progress but looking at myself after a shower is kind of a jinxing effect, I don't look like I have lost but I feel in my clothes that I have.  I guess I like to not allow myself to be happy because it has been an issue in the past.  When I was younger and thinner but big-boned, we are tall/big people in my family, I was still told by relatives that I needed to lose weight and other detrimental things.  In trying to motivate me, it just made me not want to do anything.  I am trying to no longer need their acceptance in my health, looks and weight and just focusing on how I feel about my weight, looks and health.  It sounds more complicated out loud but it's not.  I am trying to change the way I feel about myself instead of relying on certain people's approval.  Keep Going, it is the only thing that will get you over any slump, frustration or plateau!

Friday, June 1, 2012

Words cannot express how good I am feeling.  I love how working out and eating better is making me feel so much lighter.  I am still heavy though and I fluctuate throughout the week, like everyone else.  But I don't feel so bloated.  I used to feel huge, heavy and weighed down.  Now, I feel that even though the 12 pound weight loss may not be immediately visible, my belly is not protruding as much as it used to.  And not feeling bloated, especially right now as it is the first time since I started this endeavor a month ago that I have had the challenge of keeping up with it through my cycle, that is a huge deal.  I have ended up doing more housework than my usual workout.  I found a neat calculator that helps me figure about how many calories I may have burned while doing my housework so that I could add that to MyFitPal.  I really like using that tool as well, it helps me stay on track like my blog does.  I still like my apple and crunchy peanut butter snack and much prefer ice water to cold water with no ice.  It's weird, I know, but it works for me and I consistently exceed the amount of water I should be drinking daily.  I am looking forward to keeping up with it this summer and making some great headway.  Keep working at it and Stay Strong!

Thursday, May 31, 2012

It has been a crazy weekend and emotional ta boot.  So, I have not been as rigid on my diet, even though I have worked out.  Yesterday I did housework for 3 hours to prep for an upcoming visit from the landlord.  I found a nifty calculator on the web that helped me figure out how many calories I might have burned yesterday because I was pretty sweaty by the time I was done.  I was able to use that to plug into MyFitPal.  Now that school is officially out for the summer, I can get back to sticking to my weight loss goals and my school work.  For example, today I need to work on a paper and part of a team assignment.  I was just too distracted earlier.  Due to the amount of "work out" I did yesterday and that I need to run an errand this morning, I think I am going to allow myself a break and focus on school today.  Don't get me wrong, I do feel the need to work out but I also know it is important to allow myself a rest from yesterday.  So, I will resume tomorrow and I am looking forward to it.  I am also happy to announce that I have lost another pound.  Total of 12!  Glad to know that even if I wasn't super strict, I was conscious enough of what I was eating to not undue my progress.  I tried not to overeat and to eat thoughtfully.  Very happy.

Friday, May 25, 2012

That's right, I did it again!  Woohoo!!!  Another pound lost means 2 for the week!  I am finding that focusing on the day, getting my exercise in and drinking a lot of water is helping me stay focused.  My weekly goal is 2 lbs a week and I did it.  It doesn't mean I can take a break, I still have a lot to go but it gives me hope that I will continue to lose and be where I want to be.

Thursday, May 24, 2012

I was able to get my workout done this morning Before the kids got up.  This is truly a shocker because my kids are up before or just after Daddy leaves for work, which is right around 5am.  So, the fact that they all were still sleeping after he left gave me the idea to get dressed in my workout stuff, get my workout done and take a shower before they woke.  For the most part it happened as I had hoped and true to form, Bruiser was crying when I got out of the shower and Princess was in my bed waiting for me to get out.  What is nice, is last night for dinner and dessert, I felt I may have overdid it.  I was super full.  I weighed myself after my shower and found that I had maintained my 10lb mark.  I did Legs and Lungs today after doing mostly full-circuit stuff the last couple of days.  Wow, I was able to push myself but I was heavily out of breath.  I feels good to be done with it for the day, I have some homework I need to do today. 

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Hard work Pays off!!!

10 lbs down!!!  SO HAPPY!!!  It took about 4 weeks but that was my goal, about 2 lbs a week and hopefully 8-10lbs a month.  I am so glad that what I have been doing is working for me.  There are other benefits as well, some clothes are feeling nicer, looking forward to more of that.  The urge to workout is prevalent.  Ice water tastes so great.  And I have found foods that allow me to treat myself to curb those sweets cravings, thus not feeling like I am depriving myself.  Whatever works for you, be consistent, it can only benefit you :)

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Full circuit done!  23 minutes of a great workout and 167 calories burned.  I found a couple of things recently that have really helped with sweets cravings.  Skinny Cow ice cream is FANTASTIC!!!  It doesn't taste at all like diet ice cream.  It is only 150 calories for one of the cones and fits into my daily calorie intake that I am tracking on My Fitness Pal.  Only minimal coughing after my workout, thank goodness, but I feel good after that sweat.  I can't believe it has taken me so long to finally feel like working out and finding something that I like to do.  I am not a runner so that never appealed to me and I never wanted to pay for a home gym, free weights, and I did the gym membership one time and the cost was just frustrating.  So, the Wii has been my saving grace, my husband found me the Ea Active game over a year ago, I need to alternate my Zumba in, now that I don't feel so heavy anymore.  Feeling good things.  It is funny how I am noticing my body react now.  I don't feel heavy, I am still but I don't feel like I did before.  I haven't taken measurements yet, need to do that.  I can also feel that my body really wants to be exerted, get sweaty and have that nice euphoric feeling afterwards.  Gotta love endorphins!  Looking forward to further downward scale progress ;)
I have been sick as of late, causing difficulty breathing and I fear if I am too strenuous I will just end up hacking for a half hour afterwards.  I am finally feeling a little better, enough to take some allergy medicine today and hope it works.  My body is yearning for a good workout.  I had to cancel my hiking Saturday because I was feeling yucky.  So, I am going to attempt some working out today so I quit feeling anxious.  The nice thing about being sick is not being able to eat much, so I have maintained not gained this week.  I have kept up with my diet pretty good, so that has helped.  Last week of school for my daughter, so Summer will be here soon and fun with the kids.  We will all be doing exercises in the morning, they are my cheerleaders :)  Love my kids!

Friday, May 18, 2012

As a bonus to my exercise, even though I am hovering around a certain weight right now, I have gained more strength or stamina.  In terms of riding my bike, the last couple of days on my bike ride home, towing my boys which is a combined 80lbs (give or take), I can pedal longer without feeling so winded.  Don't get me wrong, I am still Very winded and sweaty when I get back but I am happy that it is becoming a little better.

Plateau

I think I have hit my first plateau/block, in weight loss.  I knew this wasn't going to be easy, so I am not frustrated by it but committed to get past it!  I have been hovering within 2 lbs all week.  I am very close to hitting my 10lb losing mark.  I will be hiking with my sister tomorrow, that will help but for the most part, I need to step it up at home.  For instance, instead of just doing the walk to school, bike home (which is only for another 7 school days)  I need to also do my EA Active those days.  I think the combination and intensity of working out this hard will help propel my scale to move in a southerly direction. 

Thursday, May 17, 2012

Today was the first day since I began, where I felt snack time before I figured I needed it.  I started feeling a little light headed and woozy.  So, I immediately got myself upstairs for some more water and a nutri grain bar.  The boys, of course, wanted something too.  It is odd to some people that it would be snack time at 9am but my kids were all up at or around 5am and we eat at 6am.  So 3 hours later it's time.  It is an early schedule but it is nice to have Daddy home earlier in the afternoon. 

Lost or Not?

So I have a new dilemma.  I weighed myself this morning about the same time I usually do.  It yielded me 2 lbs lost.  I weighed myself again about an hour later and it only gave me a pound off.  So, did I really lose the 2 lbs?  I think I am going to stick with that number because it is around the time I would usually do it.  And in my readings, it is important to weigh yourself about the same time each time.  Either way, I am a pound or so away from my first 10 lbs gone!  This doesn't mean I get to slack, just more motivation to keep going!

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Working out didn't happen so much yesterday.  I think I stressed myself out enough to lose some weight, ugh!  But I did just finish a 25 min full circuit cardio and feel great.  I think it actually helped that for the last 2 weeks I did the Legs and Lungs because my progress on my squats has improved.  I could go lower in my squat than previously.  As this is not necessarily a weight loss victory, it is a victory in improvement of form and therefore the ability to burn more calories.  It also means that I am becoming more flexible.  Granted it will take a lot of time to be in the optimum squat position but the progress helps with self-esteem.  This workout also did some standing and bent over rows and my back feels nice and stretched.  The one thing I don't like in this game is the Fast kick ups because what is fast for my heavy frame doesn't register as fast on the system, so I end up running in a funny way that kinda hurts.  Luckily I can customize next time and take that part out.  Definitely feel good right now!

Monday, May 14, 2012

Frustrated

I had a fantastic Mother's Day.  My husband and kids did great in making me feel special.  I did cheat quite a bit and did not drink as much water as I had been.  Sunday morning my hands were a little dried out and I knew exactly why.  This morning I had to run errands after dropping my daughter off at school, so now workout yet but I am seriously feeling the need, so I may do it late like I did last week.  I am feeling frustrated this morning and know that working it out on the Wii will help me feel so much better.  Trying to get that emotional balance going, either I am short with my kids because I am tired or frustrated with other stuff.  Working out has kind of helped but I am still working on it.  Praying for more patience and learning throughout this process.  I also didn't feel the need to add butter or salt to things this weekend which is rare for me and I am hoping this is a result of eating healthier and working out. My cousin sent me this cool application for the computer and smart phone that will help track calories I eat, workouts I do and my goal.  It connects us to each other to help us support each other.  I have already started it this morning and am looking forward to connecting with my cousin in WA and supporting each other.  Love her!  I think I am going to change and get started on my workout, can't shake the frustrated feeling and really want to exhaust myself just in time for naps with my boys ;)

Thursday, May 10, 2012

And another pound down!  I know it seems silly that I am constantly posting but this is the most engaged I have been in trying to lose this weight.  I only have 4 more pounds to lose to make it 10 lbs total since I started.  I found this interesting concept last night in regards to breaking your body down and building it back up correctly.  It involves a 10 day optional flush and cleaning out your colon and liver.  Not sure if I have the guts to do that yet but the science makes sense.  I might do that after school is out for the year.  I am glad that I am being consistent and working hard.  I really am excited to start fitting into some clothes again and throwing out the big ones.  Granted that is probably around the 30lb mark though and even then I may not throw things out until I have lost 50lb, just to be sure I don't rebound and gain some back.  Right now I am wearing a pair of capris that recently I couldn't, they were too snug, the zipper was always falling due to my girth.  One small victory at a time but a victory none the less!

Wednesday, May 9, 2012

It is definitely hard getting back to being active.  You begin to realize how sedentary you really were.  I always called it relaxing which was usually accompanied by eating while watching tv.  Not that it is bad to have a snack and watch a movie or tv but not being active during the day before that , was very detrimental.  I feel so good right now, even after my little walk and bike ride.  I also feel like I could do more but since I will be doing the same thing, later this afternoon in the hottest part of the day, I am allowing myself to chill until then.  Just something I was thinking about.

Success

I have lost again!  If I can lose once more this week, I will be ecstatic!  My goal is 2 lbs a week and hoping for a total of 8lbs this month.  I worked really hard yesterday and it is double school day today.  So I am excited to walk my daughter to school, ride home, ride back to pick her up.  I got an umbrella for the kids the other day, now I just need to figure out how to put it on the bike trailer to shade them.  My legs aren't nearly as sore as last week when I did the Legs and Lungs workout.  It was difficult last night though in terms of cravings.  It was 8pmish and we finally had time to ourselves to catch up on some DVR and I really wanted a snack.  I fought it though and didn't eat anything.  I am really trying to work on the not eating after 7pm.  I have read multiple times and places that eating too close to when you go to bed will just pack on the pounds.  I am proud of myself and looking forward to losing more!

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

glistening

I have a good glisten going on right now, LOL!  Ya, pretty sweaty.  I just did Legs and Lungs again on the Wii Fit, Ea Active.  I like it because it targets the lower half of my body.  Not that I couldn't use some working out all over, but 2 c-sections and not losing the baby weight afterward is where it is all hanging out.  This morning I had an idea to take the boys outside after we dropped my daughter off at school.  We went out in the sprinkler and watered the dirt at the same time.  I stayed in my swim stuff and worked out.  It was a lot better for me.  Last week when I did the work out, the legstrap with nunchuk kept sliding off my shorts and throwing off my progress.  So, I knew I needed to make some changes.  I am cooling off a lot faster this time around as well.  I had my annual check up yesterday and Doc said to give myself shortterm attainable goals.  He was giving me conservative goals, which I have set before but I really want to push myself this time and be more aggressive about it.  So, I am aiming for 2 lbs a week and 8 lbs total this month!  I need this and want this, so I am going to do it and not get discouraged if it doesn't happen.  That is the key, remaining positive or finding a way to push past the plateaus.  I feel good though and that always helps.  It also helps that I am in the beginning of a new class at school because last week was brutal as the final week of that class.  I did the brave thing and took some pictures of myself today too.  I need some before and afters or progressive shots as I reach milestones.  For example 10lbs, 20lbs, etc.  Good luck to everyone!

Saturday, May 5, 2012

Weekend

Well, this morning started out pretty ok.  Had my shake, did some abs with my 10lb kettlebell and some push ups.  I feel like my legs have gotten a heck of a workout this week with the bike riding and everything but my arms are neglected.  This isn't entirely true, I just don't feel the burn anymore.  I still pick up/carry around my 30lb 18month old quite often, so it's not that my arms aren't getting a work out.  I definitely wanted to work out my chest a little bit, hence the push ups and did some lower abs to get some strength back.  I didn't get to do that very long, maybe 15 minutes, because the kids were ready for breakfast.  So, I decided to clean up my backyard a bit, which is a pretty good workout too.  So, I got some pretty good activity in today.  Tomorrow I rest and start all over on Monday.  I like keeping it different so far.  We will see how next week goes :)

Friday, May 4, 2012

Surprise

I woke up feeling stiff and bloated this morning.  Maybe not bloated just swollen.  Either way not how I wanted to feel this morning.  I knew I needed to weigh myself and with the way I was feeling my thoughts were, I haven't lost anything. Dreadedly I got on the scale because even though I didn't want to do it, I wanted to.  I wanted to see if there was any progress, if even a little.  To my surprise, there it was, the work had paid off.  I lost again and it was enough not to be discouraged.  It was enough to say, don't be stupid and quit, keep going.  So I AM!  Very happy this morning.  And I have a date with my husband tonight, it makes for a great way to start the weekend!

Thursday, May 3, 2012

Positives

I worked out hard for these 3 days and I am feeling it!  Another bonus to my endeavor is that all my water drinking has improved my skin.  My hands are soft  where usually, due to 3 kids and constant hand washing, it is not the case.  Still working on getting my dinner portions smaller which has hindered my weight loss a little this week but I am doing good in terms of the shakes and apple snack in the morning/afternoon.  I am glad to be feeling good.  I was exhausted yesterday but today I am taking a break.  I took my husband to work this morning so I could have the car to run some errands.  Tomorrow it will be the walk/ride to school again.  I am looking forward to more positives to make whatever negatives I encounter not as important.

Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Bike ride

So every Wednesday my daughter has a short day at school, which means Mommy and the brothers pick her up via walking.  We walk to school most mornings, except when I have the car, then I give us some extra time to get ready in the morning (aka-I'm being lazy).  Last night I had an idea, it is going to be HOT this afternoon, and I don't like walking in it and neither does my daughter after a full day of school.  SO, I got my bike out this morning and attached the bike trailer.  The only problem was that I hadn't had my bike out in a year and the tires were flat.  We walked my daughter to school, with the bike and trailer attached and I proceeded to walk the whole thing down to the QT near my house to put air in the tires.  Once we got all the tires filled up, the boys and I rode home.  It was nice and I sweated more than I thought I would.  This afternoon, the plan is to have all 3 of my kids in the bike trailer for the much shorter ride home from school.  It will be interesting but i think fun and cooler than walking.  I think I may keep up the bike rides for the last month of school and maybe in the early mornings of the summer.  My kids are up so early, it would be nice to do a little ride before breakfast and the deathly heat of the mid-morning.  Just thoughts, no promises.  I always start with good intentions...

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Honesty

I figure I need to be as honest as possible for myself and others who may be struggling with their weight as I am.  Had a weak moment today.  I was super grumpy, hungry and my boys were driving me a little crazy. I hit an emotional block.  I ended up having a huge bowl of strawberries and cream and a cup of soda.  I am driving to fight these demons and I knew it would be hard.  The hardest part, is that maybe I shouldn't be so hard on myself, but I hate myself for eating that.  I want this SO bad and I know or at least think I can do it.  I am mad that I let myself get this heavy and fall apart.  I knew it wouldn't be an easy road to travel and had a feeling these emotions would come into play eventually, just not this soon.  I guess I feel bad too because all I did for exercise today was walk my daughter to school, pushing her brothers in a bike trailer/stroller.  It is about a 30 min walk roundtrip but my legs are still sore from yesterday which is both good and bad.  After my 5k it took my body one day of being sore to feel normal again.  So, I am hoping tomorrow I won't be so sore. To me sore means it is working, well if I am still sore, how do I know if what I did today is working.  I don't know, it's just a bunch of jumbled emotions and frustration but I have to work through this and I don't know how.  I am praying there won't be too many of these types of posts but if I don't be honest with myself, then I will never reach my goal. 

Feeling the burn

I am still feeling it in my legs today.  It was a good workout yesterday and my thighs are killing me every time I sit down.  Today I will be walking my daughter to school and then I might do some more cardio on the Wii.  Got to get this weight burning off as much as I can. 

Monday, April 30, 2012

Workout

Last week was not a great week to start working out but I did start the diet.  Today I just finished Legs and Lungs on my EA Active Wii workout.  Got a good sweat going and even burned more calories than the target set by the game.  Now to keep this up.  I have a great goal in mind and I know I can achieve it, just gotta stick with it.  My poor kids, I had to have them sit down and not be around me.  I almost kicked one of my sons twice because he got too close in trying to do exercises with me. My legs are a tremblin', it feels good to be exhausted from doing something good for me :)

Following Through

I had a not so diet conscious weekend.  I ran out of my skim milk and my slimfast mix, so I had to go shopping.  The idea is stay on the diet all 7 days of a week and not to take a break on the weekends.  The end result that I want very badly is what is keeping me on track, even with my minor setback this weekend.  I still desire the results and am eager to seem them come to fruition.  So, off to another start and I have all the stuff I need now.  I will say that I made a pretty decent dinner yesterday in terms of healthy.  I made ground turkey round steak, asparagus and homemade strawberry shortcake for dessert.  Looking forward to continuing the weight loss.

Friday, April 27, 2012

Happy

It is the end of the week and I have lost another pound.  Woohoo!  2 lbs down and a long way to go. 

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Improvement

Well, I have been doing my diet and getting more exercise.  Cut out soda, drinking water but it has to be ICE water.  I know, I'm weird.  As silly as it may be, I weighed myself this morning and have lost 1 pound!  It's a start and considering where I am at regarding my weight, I will take it!

Monday, April 23, 2012

First Day of a New future!

So far today is going pretty well.  Drank my Slimfast, just had an apple with crunchy peanut butter.  Drinking water.  I have had a few moments of, "ooo that sounds yummy."  I am glad that I was successful in keeping those thoughts as just thoughts and not eating things I shouldn't.  If I can keep beating the psychology behind my eating into submission, I know I will be able to triumph and be successful.  It is getting hot here so that means outside is going to be more miserable.  I am going to keep doing my inside exercise programs and try to get the kids outside in some sprinklers or something throughout the weeks of the summer. 

Sunday, April 22, 2012

Continued

Found a cool little calculator that told me, if I kick up my exercise from light to aggressive, which I plan to do, and if I decrease my current calorie intake, which I also plan to do, I can lose a desired 50lbs around October.  September is my 10 year Reunion so that is really the goal but having most of it gone by then is still pretty good.  Excited to get started.  Good things to come!

Can't stand it anymore!

I will admit, my weight is My fault.  I never lost the baby weight in between my kids and have continued to just let it pile on.  I am at the heaviest I have ever been and other body parts are beginning to suffer because of it.  My feet have been killing me lately and I can only attribute it to my weight.  So, I am starting a personal challenge.  I am not Catholic and I know Lent has passed but I am challenging myself to start my diet and exercise and stick with it for 40 days.  No more soda.  I have informed my husband, it is banned, no matter how much I may need the caffeine one day.  I am starting on Monday.  I can't be this heavy anymore.  I have a full life ahead of me to live for myself and my family.  I need to be healthier, for MY sake.  I am also going to try to post weekly my progress. Time to take charge of my life!

Tuesday, January 10, 2012

Enough is Enough!

I know I gave up on losing the weight and updating the blog.  I failed myself last year.  It seemed to be an insane year and with that came a lot of comfort eating.  I am the heaviest I have ever been while not pregnant.  I am huffing and puffing and unhealthy.  So I am officially declaring, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!!!  Some of my failure has been the fear of being lighter.  As it doesn't make sense because I am not really comfortable being so heavy, I am comfortable being so heavy and hiding behind big clothes.  It is my personal challenge to lose this weight.  I have done it before, I can do it again but this time go all the way.  I have been watching my friend on facebook for the last year working her butt off and now it's my turn.  We both have the same amount of kids, the same ages and she is at her pre-first child weight.  It is time to be healthy because my kids are only going to get bigger and more active and I NEED  to keep up.  I have slowly started this week because I am still fighting off some sinus junk but I am starting Sunday the 15th.  It is time to get more energy, and hopefully by the end of the year, a new wardrobe ;)  I can't live life like this well.  Obviously I have done it already but it has gone on for too long.  So here it is the beginning of a new, healthier life.  Starting Sunday, I will be reporting my weight, exercises and feelings because trust me there will be feelings...there is always a psychology behind weight and I fully expect to have to face mine.  So to all of you who have made a resolution, let's stick to it, as difficult as it may be, for the sake of ourselves and our families, BE HEALTHY!