Getting Fit

Created by MyFitnessPal - Free Calorie Counter

Thursday, May 31, 2012

It has been a crazy weekend and emotional ta boot.  So, I have not been as rigid on my diet, even though I have worked out.  Yesterday I did housework for 3 hours to prep for an upcoming visit from the landlord.  I found a nifty calculator on the web that helped me figure out how many calories I might have burned yesterday because I was pretty sweaty by the time I was done.  I was able to use that to plug into MyFitPal.  Now that school is officially out for the summer, I can get back to sticking to my weight loss goals and my school work.  For example, today I need to work on a paper and part of a team assignment.  I was just too distracted earlier.  Due to the amount of "work out" I did yesterday and that I need to run an errand this morning, I think I am going to allow myself a break and focus on school today.  Don't get me wrong, I do feel the need to work out but I also know it is important to allow myself a rest from yesterday.  So, I will resume tomorrow and I am looking forward to it.  I am also happy to announce that I have lost another pound.  Total of 12!  Glad to know that even if I wasn't super strict, I was conscious enough of what I was eating to not undue my progress.  I tried not to overeat and to eat thoughtfully.  Very happy.

Friday, May 25, 2012

That's right, I did it again!  Woohoo!!!  Another pound lost means 2 for the week!  I am finding that focusing on the day, getting my exercise in and drinking a lot of water is helping me stay focused.  My weekly goal is 2 lbs a week and I did it.  It doesn't mean I can take a break, I still have a lot to go but it gives me hope that I will continue to lose and be where I want to be.

Thursday, May 24, 2012

I was able to get my workout done this morning Before the kids got up.  This is truly a shocker because my kids are up before or just after Daddy leaves for work, which is right around 5am.  So, the fact that they all were still sleeping after he left gave me the idea to get dressed in my workout stuff, get my workout done and take a shower before they woke.  For the most part it happened as I had hoped and true to form, Bruiser was crying when I got out of the shower and Princess was in my bed waiting for me to get out.  What is nice, is last night for dinner and dessert, I felt I may have overdid it.  I was super full.  I weighed myself after my shower and found that I had maintained my 10lb mark.  I did Legs and Lungs today after doing mostly full-circuit stuff the last couple of days.  Wow, I was able to push myself but I was heavily out of breath.  I feels good to be done with it for the day, I have some homework I need to do today. 

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Hard work Pays off!!!

10 lbs down!!!  SO HAPPY!!!  It took about 4 weeks but that was my goal, about 2 lbs a week and hopefully 8-10lbs a month.  I am so glad that what I have been doing is working for me.  There are other benefits as well, some clothes are feeling nicer, looking forward to more of that.  The urge to workout is prevalent.  Ice water tastes so great.  And I have found foods that allow me to treat myself to curb those sweets cravings, thus not feeling like I am depriving myself.  Whatever works for you, be consistent, it can only benefit you :)

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Full circuit done!  23 minutes of a great workout and 167 calories burned.  I found a couple of things recently that have really helped with sweets cravings.  Skinny Cow ice cream is FANTASTIC!!!  It doesn't taste at all like diet ice cream.  It is only 150 calories for one of the cones and fits into my daily calorie intake that I am tracking on My Fitness Pal.  Only minimal coughing after my workout, thank goodness, but I feel good after that sweat.  I can't believe it has taken me so long to finally feel like working out and finding something that I like to do.  I am not a runner so that never appealed to me and I never wanted to pay for a home gym, free weights, and I did the gym membership one time and the cost was just frustrating.  So, the Wii has been my saving grace, my husband found me the Ea Active game over a year ago, I need to alternate my Zumba in, now that I don't feel so heavy anymore.  Feeling good things.  It is funny how I am noticing my body react now.  I don't feel heavy, I am still but I don't feel like I did before.  I haven't taken measurements yet, need to do that.  I can also feel that my body really wants to be exerted, get sweaty and have that nice euphoric feeling afterwards.  Gotta love endorphins!  Looking forward to further downward scale progress ;)
I have been sick as of late, causing difficulty breathing and I fear if I am too strenuous I will just end up hacking for a half hour afterwards.  I am finally feeling a little better, enough to take some allergy medicine today and hope it works.  My body is yearning for a good workout.  I had to cancel my hiking Saturday because I was feeling yucky.  So, I am going to attempt some working out today so I quit feeling anxious.  The nice thing about being sick is not being able to eat much, so I have maintained not gained this week.  I have kept up with my diet pretty good, so that has helped.  Last week of school for my daughter, so Summer will be here soon and fun with the kids.  We will all be doing exercises in the morning, they are my cheerleaders :)  Love my kids!

Friday, May 18, 2012

As a bonus to my exercise, even though I am hovering around a certain weight right now, I have gained more strength or stamina.  In terms of riding my bike, the last couple of days on my bike ride home, towing my boys which is a combined 80lbs (give or take), I can pedal longer without feeling so winded.  Don't get me wrong, I am still Very winded and sweaty when I get back but I am happy that it is becoming a little better.

Plateau

I think I have hit my first plateau/block, in weight loss.  I knew this wasn't going to be easy, so I am not frustrated by it but committed to get past it!  I have been hovering within 2 lbs all week.  I am very close to hitting my 10lb losing mark.  I will be hiking with my sister tomorrow, that will help but for the most part, I need to step it up at home.  For instance, instead of just doing the walk to school, bike home (which is only for another 7 school days)  I need to also do my EA Active those days.  I think the combination and intensity of working out this hard will help propel my scale to move in a southerly direction. 

Thursday, May 17, 2012

Today was the first day since I began, where I felt snack time before I figured I needed it.  I started feeling a little light headed and woozy.  So, I immediately got myself upstairs for some more water and a nutri grain bar.  The boys, of course, wanted something too.  It is odd to some people that it would be snack time at 9am but my kids were all up at or around 5am and we eat at 6am.  So 3 hours later it's time.  It is an early schedule but it is nice to have Daddy home earlier in the afternoon. 

Lost or Not?

So I have a new dilemma.  I weighed myself this morning about the same time I usually do.  It yielded me 2 lbs lost.  I weighed myself again about an hour later and it only gave me a pound off.  So, did I really lose the 2 lbs?  I think I am going to stick with that number because it is around the time I would usually do it.  And in my readings, it is important to weigh yourself about the same time each time.  Either way, I am a pound or so away from my first 10 lbs gone!  This doesn't mean I get to slack, just more motivation to keep going!

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Working out didn't happen so much yesterday.  I think I stressed myself out enough to lose some weight, ugh!  But I did just finish a 25 min full circuit cardio and feel great.  I think it actually helped that for the last 2 weeks I did the Legs and Lungs because my progress on my squats has improved.  I could go lower in my squat than previously.  As this is not necessarily a weight loss victory, it is a victory in improvement of form and therefore the ability to burn more calories.  It also means that I am becoming more flexible.  Granted it will take a lot of time to be in the optimum squat position but the progress helps with self-esteem.  This workout also did some standing and bent over rows and my back feels nice and stretched.  The one thing I don't like in this game is the Fast kick ups because what is fast for my heavy frame doesn't register as fast on the system, so I end up running in a funny way that kinda hurts.  Luckily I can customize next time and take that part out.  Definitely feel good right now!

Monday, May 14, 2012

Frustrated

I had a fantastic Mother's Day.  My husband and kids did great in making me feel special.  I did cheat quite a bit and did not drink as much water as I had been.  Sunday morning my hands were a little dried out and I knew exactly why.  This morning I had to run errands after dropping my daughter off at school, so now workout yet but I am seriously feeling the need, so I may do it late like I did last week.  I am feeling frustrated this morning and know that working it out on the Wii will help me feel so much better.  Trying to get that emotional balance going, either I am short with my kids because I am tired or frustrated with other stuff.  Working out has kind of helped but I am still working on it.  Praying for more patience and learning throughout this process.  I also didn't feel the need to add butter or salt to things this weekend which is rare for me and I am hoping this is a result of eating healthier and working out. My cousin sent me this cool application for the computer and smart phone that will help track calories I eat, workouts I do and my goal.  It connects us to each other to help us support each other.  I have already started it this morning and am looking forward to connecting with my cousin in WA and supporting each other.  Love her!  I think I am going to change and get started on my workout, can't shake the frustrated feeling and really want to exhaust myself just in time for naps with my boys ;)

Thursday, May 10, 2012

And another pound down!  I know it seems silly that I am constantly posting but this is the most engaged I have been in trying to lose this weight.  I only have 4 more pounds to lose to make it 10 lbs total since I started.  I found this interesting concept last night in regards to breaking your body down and building it back up correctly.  It involves a 10 day optional flush and cleaning out your colon and liver.  Not sure if I have the guts to do that yet but the science makes sense.  I might do that after school is out for the year.  I am glad that I am being consistent and working hard.  I really am excited to start fitting into some clothes again and throwing out the big ones.  Granted that is probably around the 30lb mark though and even then I may not throw things out until I have lost 50lb, just to be sure I don't rebound and gain some back.  Right now I am wearing a pair of capris that recently I couldn't, they were too snug, the zipper was always falling due to my girth.  One small victory at a time but a victory none the less!

Wednesday, May 9, 2012

It is definitely hard getting back to being active.  You begin to realize how sedentary you really were.  I always called it relaxing which was usually accompanied by eating while watching tv.  Not that it is bad to have a snack and watch a movie or tv but not being active during the day before that , was very detrimental.  I feel so good right now, even after my little walk and bike ride.  I also feel like I could do more but since I will be doing the same thing, later this afternoon in the hottest part of the day, I am allowing myself to chill until then.  Just something I was thinking about.

Success

I have lost again!  If I can lose once more this week, I will be ecstatic!  My goal is 2 lbs a week and hoping for a total of 8lbs this month.  I worked really hard yesterday and it is double school day today.  So I am excited to walk my daughter to school, ride home, ride back to pick her up.  I got an umbrella for the kids the other day, now I just need to figure out how to put it on the bike trailer to shade them.  My legs aren't nearly as sore as last week when I did the Legs and Lungs workout.  It was difficult last night though in terms of cravings.  It was 8pmish and we finally had time to ourselves to catch up on some DVR and I really wanted a snack.  I fought it though and didn't eat anything.  I am really trying to work on the not eating after 7pm.  I have read multiple times and places that eating too close to when you go to bed will just pack on the pounds.  I am proud of myself and looking forward to losing more!

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

glistening

I have a good glisten going on right now, LOL!  Ya, pretty sweaty.  I just did Legs and Lungs again on the Wii Fit, Ea Active.  I like it because it targets the lower half of my body.  Not that I couldn't use some working out all over, but 2 c-sections and not losing the baby weight afterward is where it is all hanging out.  This morning I had an idea to take the boys outside after we dropped my daughter off at school.  We went out in the sprinkler and watered the dirt at the same time.  I stayed in my swim stuff and worked out.  It was a lot better for me.  Last week when I did the work out, the legstrap with nunchuk kept sliding off my shorts and throwing off my progress.  So, I knew I needed to make some changes.  I am cooling off a lot faster this time around as well.  I had my annual check up yesterday and Doc said to give myself shortterm attainable goals.  He was giving me conservative goals, which I have set before but I really want to push myself this time and be more aggressive about it.  So, I am aiming for 2 lbs a week and 8 lbs total this month!  I need this and want this, so I am going to do it and not get discouraged if it doesn't happen.  That is the key, remaining positive or finding a way to push past the plateaus.  I feel good though and that always helps.  It also helps that I am in the beginning of a new class at school because last week was brutal as the final week of that class.  I did the brave thing and took some pictures of myself today too.  I need some before and afters or progressive shots as I reach milestones.  For example 10lbs, 20lbs, etc.  Good luck to everyone!

Saturday, May 5, 2012

Weekend

Well, this morning started out pretty ok.  Had my shake, did some abs with my 10lb kettlebell and some push ups.  I feel like my legs have gotten a heck of a workout this week with the bike riding and everything but my arms are neglected.  This isn't entirely true, I just don't feel the burn anymore.  I still pick up/carry around my 30lb 18month old quite often, so it's not that my arms aren't getting a work out.  I definitely wanted to work out my chest a little bit, hence the push ups and did some lower abs to get some strength back.  I didn't get to do that very long, maybe 15 minutes, because the kids were ready for breakfast.  So, I decided to clean up my backyard a bit, which is a pretty good workout too.  So, I got some pretty good activity in today.  Tomorrow I rest and start all over on Monday.  I like keeping it different so far.  We will see how next week goes :)

Friday, May 4, 2012

Surprise

I woke up feeling stiff and bloated this morning.  Maybe not bloated just swollen.  Either way not how I wanted to feel this morning.  I knew I needed to weigh myself and with the way I was feeling my thoughts were, I haven't lost anything. Dreadedly I got on the scale because even though I didn't want to do it, I wanted to.  I wanted to see if there was any progress, if even a little.  To my surprise, there it was, the work had paid off.  I lost again and it was enough not to be discouraged.  It was enough to say, don't be stupid and quit, keep going.  So I AM!  Very happy this morning.  And I have a date with my husband tonight, it makes for a great way to start the weekend!

Thursday, May 3, 2012

Positives

I worked out hard for these 3 days and I am feeling it!  Another bonus to my endeavor is that all my water drinking has improved my skin.  My hands are soft  where usually, due to 3 kids and constant hand washing, it is not the case.  Still working on getting my dinner portions smaller which has hindered my weight loss a little this week but I am doing good in terms of the shakes and apple snack in the morning/afternoon.  I am glad to be feeling good.  I was exhausted yesterday but today I am taking a break.  I took my husband to work this morning so I could have the car to run some errands.  Tomorrow it will be the walk/ride to school again.  I am looking forward to more positives to make whatever negatives I encounter not as important.

Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Bike ride

So every Wednesday my daughter has a short day at school, which means Mommy and the brothers pick her up via walking.  We walk to school most mornings, except when I have the car, then I give us some extra time to get ready in the morning (aka-I'm being lazy).  Last night I had an idea, it is going to be HOT this afternoon, and I don't like walking in it and neither does my daughter after a full day of school.  SO, I got my bike out this morning and attached the bike trailer.  The only problem was that I hadn't had my bike out in a year and the tires were flat.  We walked my daughter to school, with the bike and trailer attached and I proceeded to walk the whole thing down to the QT near my house to put air in the tires.  Once we got all the tires filled up, the boys and I rode home.  It was nice and I sweated more than I thought I would.  This afternoon, the plan is to have all 3 of my kids in the bike trailer for the much shorter ride home from school.  It will be interesting but i think fun and cooler than walking.  I think I may keep up the bike rides for the last month of school and maybe in the early mornings of the summer.  My kids are up so early, it would be nice to do a little ride before breakfast and the deathly heat of the mid-morning.  Just thoughts, no promises.  I always start with good intentions...

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Honesty

I figure I need to be as honest as possible for myself and others who may be struggling with their weight as I am.  Had a weak moment today.  I was super grumpy, hungry and my boys were driving me a little crazy. I hit an emotional block.  I ended up having a huge bowl of strawberries and cream and a cup of soda.  I am driving to fight these demons and I knew it would be hard.  The hardest part, is that maybe I shouldn't be so hard on myself, but I hate myself for eating that.  I want this SO bad and I know or at least think I can do it.  I am mad that I let myself get this heavy and fall apart.  I knew it wouldn't be an easy road to travel and had a feeling these emotions would come into play eventually, just not this soon.  I guess I feel bad too because all I did for exercise today was walk my daughter to school, pushing her brothers in a bike trailer/stroller.  It is about a 30 min walk roundtrip but my legs are still sore from yesterday which is both good and bad.  After my 5k it took my body one day of being sore to feel normal again.  So, I am hoping tomorrow I won't be so sore. To me sore means it is working, well if I am still sore, how do I know if what I did today is working.  I don't know, it's just a bunch of jumbled emotions and frustration but I have to work through this and I don't know how.  I am praying there won't be too many of these types of posts but if I don't be honest with myself, then I will never reach my goal. 

Feeling the burn

I am still feeling it in my legs today.  It was a good workout yesterday and my thighs are killing me every time I sit down.  Today I will be walking my daughter to school and then I might do some more cardio on the Wii.  Got to get this weight burning off as much as I can.